samsung galaxy s forum
Find Your Forum
  
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

News: Do you like Samsung Galaxy S?    
Advanced search
Scratch-Proof your Samsung Galaxy S                      Best Screen Protector for Samsung Galaxy S Cheap Cell Phone Accessories
Bookmark Samsung Galaxy S Forum
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Share this topic on AskShare this topic on Del.icio.usShare this topic on DiggShare this topic on FacebookShare this topic on GoogleShare this topic on LiveShare this topic on MySpaceShare this topic on RedditShare this topic on SquidooShare this topic on StumbleUponShare this topic on TwitterShare this topic on YahooShare this topic on Google buzz
Author Topic: Data Network Unavailable  (Read 43627 times)
minitokyo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

China China

Posts: 44


View Profile
« on: March 07, 2011, 06:06:51 AM »

I have a i9000 Galaxy S. After I hard reset it, when I inserted my SIM card it says "data network unavailable". It seems that it cannot get any signal at all. I went to the Network settings but it also cannot provide any available network.

Does anyone here know how to resolve this?

My phone was able to read my SIM because under the contacts, I can see the list of contacts that were saved on the SIM.

Best Screen Protector
kalir.kesto
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 12:23:49 AM »

I got my new Samsung Galaxy S unlocked phone yesterday from Amazon. However it seems that it is not being able to recognize my sim. Whenever I am trying to make any call, it says "data network not available". Can anyone suggest anything? I am using a T-mobile sim since 2006. Is it something to do with using an old sim?
Best Screen Protector
den2003
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 24


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 02:41:07 AM »

I got my new Samsung Galaxy S unlocked phone yesterday from Amazon. However it seems that it is not being able to recognize my sim. Whenever I am trying to make any call, it says "data network not available". Can anyone suggest anything? I am using a T-mobile sim since 2006. Is it something to do with using an old sim?
You can't use any old gsm sim. You need a usim.
Best Screen Protector
pepper22
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 01:59:39 PM »

hi have a galaxy s and ive just got a new sim from tmobile but it still says data network not available....
this is getting really annoying is there anything i need to do??? 
Best Screen Protector
kalir.kesto
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United States United States

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 02:20:21 PM »

It worked for me when I changed my sim.
Best Screen Protector
pepper22
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 02:23:32 PM »

if anything its got worse...!!

was wondering if its the phone more than the sim?
Best Screen Protector
IronSingh
Administrator
******

Karma: +69/-0
Offline Offline

Kuwait Kuwait

Posts: 2172



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2011, 03:10:05 PM »

Is the Phone Locked or Unlocked?

Please tell me what you see when you type *#7465625# into the Dialer.

Peace.
IronSingh
Best Screen Protector

Request for Anyone

Common Queries:
| Forum Rules | Tips and Tricks | Trouble after Kies Update? | What is Root? | What is Flashing? | Official ROMs | Carrier Unlock |
| How To Root | How to Lagfix | How to Enter Download Mode and Recovery Mode |

Please Don't PM me with questions about your device, you can send me links to your thread.

Device History: Nokia 9210, Nokia 9210i, Qtek 1010, Qtek 2020, HP iPAQ 612C, Nokia 7710, Nokia 5800, Nokia N95, Nokia E90, Nokia N900, Samsung GT-i9000, Nexus S

Current Device: Samsung Galaxy SII Powered by KG1 Darky.
pepper22
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2011, 03:23:49 PM »

im gona presume its locked as i gt it from t mobile 9 months ago...

it says
network lock off
network subset lock off
sp lock off
cp lock off

 not sure what this means??
Best Screen Protector
IronSingh
Administrator
******

Karma: +69/-0
Offline Offline

Kuwait Kuwait

Posts: 2172



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2011, 03:45:34 PM »

That means that there is no Carrier Lock.

Can you try a different Sim Card?

Maybe a friend or relative just to see if the SIM slot works properly and to rule out that your sim card is fine.

Sometimes if your sim card is really old it needs to be updated. I had this issue with my sim card where If I just put it in a different phone and then tried it back into my phone it started working again. I know it's strange but then again I don't really understand the GSM Network completely so w/e.

Please try it let me know.

Peace.
IronSingh
Best Screen Protector
pepper22
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

United Kingdom United Kingdom

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2011, 03:49:12 PM »

havent got a sim to hand at the mo but will hunt a friend down for one....my sim is new as i only resieved it tues,but shall try .


 thanks and will let u know..Happy



















Best Screen Protector
nighteyes
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Australia Australia

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2011, 10:13:53 PM »

Hi guys  two nights ago i did a factory reset on my phone i removed my sim did the reset and replaced the sim now i have no network at all. under network settings there is no networks to choose from the phone is reading the sim card ( have all my contacts ) .
 the sim works in my wifes phone  but her sim wont work in mine ( we are both on telstra ) is there any way to manually type in the network that my phone should be on or any help that you can offer.
 my phone is on a plan from telstra and when i type in *#7465625#* it just says no mobile network available 
 thanks
Best Screen Protector
ashvine2005
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Mauritius Mauritius

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: October 22, 2011, 02:27:15 AM »

Hi IronSingh,
I did type *#7465625# into the Dialer and the result i are

network lock (OFF)
network subset lock (OFF)
sp lock (OFF)
cp lock (OFF)

Still i don't get any network connection and when i dail * # * # 1 9 7 3 2 8 6 4 0 # * # * its says am in service mode.
Best Screen Protector
IronSingh
Administrator
******

Karma: +69/-0
Offline Offline

Kuwait Kuwait

Posts: 2172



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2011, 01:00:31 AM »

Hi IronSingh,
I did type *#7465625# into the Dialer and the result i are

network lock (OFF)
network subset lock (OFF)
sp lock (OFF)
cp lock (OFF)

Still i don't get any network connection and when i dail * # * # 1 9 7 3 2 8 6 4 0 # * # * its says am in service mode.

Is it a Stock device?

Did you try the sim card in a different Device?

Did you try to restart the phone by pulling the battery?

Peace.
IronSingh
Best Screen Protector
ashvine2005
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Mauritius Mauritius

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: October 25, 2011, 08:30:26 AM »

Hi IronSingh,

the sim card works well in another device. yes i did try all that u did tell me but still nothing works.

please help Crying
Best Screen Protector
IronSingh
Administrator
******

Karma: +69/-0
Offline Offline

Kuwait Kuwait

Posts: 2172



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2011, 12:51:28 AM »

Hi IronSingh,

the sim card works well in another device. yes i did try all that u did tell me but still nothing works.

please help Crying

Has this sim card ever worked on your Phone?

There is an older standard for sim cards which was updated somewhere around 2003.

Can you try someone else's sim card?

Peace.
IronSingh
Best Screen Protector
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Print

Jump to:  

Got a new phone? Find the forum here


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Data Network Deactivated - receiving pic msgs
How To....(Galaxy S)
grasshopper 1 4217 Last post April 10, 2011, 07:03:05 PM
by lorsban
Data Network
Media Problems
joodyanne 4 11498 Last post October 03, 2011, 12:34:18 PM
by Akhtar
Problems with 3G data network
Firmware Problems
Pollik 1 4491 Last post December 11, 2011, 08:31:54 PM
by cookm75
help me :Data network mode not working samsung galaxy s1
Troubleshooting
guddu 6 20606 Last post March 09, 2012, 12:57:30 AM
by Jusdme34
data network unavailable
Troubleshooting
dvbman 3 5838 Last post May 08, 2012, 07:34:19 AM
by dvbman




Thanks for visiting Samsung Galaxy S Forum

















CopyRight 2010 Samsung Galaxy S Forum
Powered by SMF 1.1.12 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Sitemap

Galaxy S3 | Galaxy Note | Galaxy Nexus | Kindle Fire | Atrix 4G | Motorola Xoom | Windows Phone 7
Nokia Lumia | Tech Support Forum | Top Hosts | Samsung Galaxy Tab | Samsung Galaxy S2 | Samsung Galaxy S | Samsung Wave
HTC Evo 3D | HTC Evo 4G | HTC Incredible | HTC Incredible 2 | HTC Incredible S | HTC Thunderbolt
Motorola Droid Razr
| HTC Desire | HTC Desire HD | HTC Desire Z | HTC Desire S | HTC Wildfire
Motorola Droid | Galaxy Indulge | Nokia N8 | Droid Charge | Droid X | Droid X2 | Droid 2| Droid 3 | Fascinate
HTC Sensation | HTC Flyer | LG Revolution | Asus Transformer | Xperia Play | iPhone 4 | Nexus S | Droid Bionic
HTC One | HTC Wildfire S | HTC Droid Eris


This is an Un-Official fan based Website. The views expressed on this website are solely those of the proprietor, or contributors to the site, and do not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of the parties it covers, and is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by parties involved.
If you have a problem with any of the content posted on this website, please contact "mobile@vssupportqueue.com"
Term of Use | Privacy Policy | BlackRain 2006 by, Crip